The Team

Board of Directors

Daniel Kim – daniel.kim@kcaa.ca
Executive Director
Member since 2007 (Founder)

Daniel currently works in Corporate Credit for a ‘Big 5 Bank’ and has completed his MBA at the Rotman School of Management. As the Founder and Executive Director of the KCAA, Daniel implements a leadership model that encourages ownership, vision and consistent growth within the community. He is a firm believer of the “play hard, work harder” theory, adores the outdoors and enjoys Karaoke’ing on the regular.

Susan Kim – susan.kim@kcaa.ca
Senior Director
Member since 2007 (Founder)

Susan is one of the founders of KCAA, and although she now resides in Chicago, the KCAA still calls upon her years of experience and wisdom for counsel.

Ruby Cha – ruby.cha@kcaa.ca
Event Director
Member since 2007 (Founding Member)

I am currently a flight attendant for Air Canada and, as such, am travelling quite frequently. I started with the KCAA as the Finance Director and have since transitioned into the Event Director role.

Janice Lee – janice.lee@kcaa.ca
Event Director
Member since 2009

With experience in event planning and passion for networking, I try to help make every KCAA event the best it can be. I love my role as a Mobile Mortgage Specialist with one of the top lenders in the country. In my free time, I love to travel, eat, shop and be a mommy to my furbabies, Stinky and Spunky

Kay Ahn – kay.ahn@kcaa.ca
Finance Director
Member since 2014

Graduated from Waterloo and currently working at a bank. Looking forward to working with the team and contributing to the community in the upcoming year!

Daniel Hsiung – danny.hsiung@kcaa.ca
Director
Member since 2010

Currently working as a Financial Analyst at a large Canadian mortgage brokerage company, previously a Treasury Analyst at a large Canadian property management company. I bring a wealth of financial knowledge through my education and work experiences, which is an asset especially for the role I play within the KCAA which is being the Finance Director. I also bring a team player type attitude to the organization, and a trustworthy persona, which is important when dealing with cash and the overall finances of an organization. Not many people know I hold a PADI Certification, which means I am a certified scuba diver. I’ve dived in 2 of the world’s top 10 diving sites in the world so far: Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands, and Cozumel, Mexico.

Danielle Paik – danielle.paik@kcaa.ca
Public Relations Director
Member since 2012

I am a recent graduate from Ryerson University, now working as the Accounts Manager at an events, marketing and PR firm called The Mint Agency. Although I am definitely no athlete, I bring my enthusiasm and passion for the community to KCAA. I am a strong believer in what KCAA stands for and hope to help bring our organization to the next level. A random fact about me – some people call me a hoarder, but I like to call myself an avid collector 🙂

Danis Kim – danis.kim@kcaa.ca
Marketing Relations Director
Member since 2011

I`ve been surrounded by computers and technology my entire life. Aside from my schoolng and 10+ years in the IT industry, I`ve acquired many interesting skills in my lifetime. Some that I am most proud of are Nunchaku skills… bowhunting skills… computer hacking skills, to mention a few 🙂

Sylvia Kim – sylvia.kim@kcaa.ca
Digital Media Director
Member since 2014

I’m a graduate of UWO with a degree in Media, Information and Technoculture. I lived in Korea for about 5 years post grad — doing everything from teaching to broadcast radio to event promotions — and returned to Canada summer of 2013. Currently, I am a DVD Marketing Coordinator at eOne and am excited about a new career and what I can bring to KCAA. And umm… I have a Yorkie, recently had surgery for Achilles’ tendon rupture, I love cupcakes, and my favourite colour is purple.

Yun Joo Lee – yj.lee@kcaa.ca
Sponsorship Director
Member since 2015

I recently just finished my last year at the University of Toronto studying neuroscience and psychology. I work at the Centre for Addiction and Mental Health as a research analyst within the realm of schizophrenia and genetics. Some random things about me.. Assembling ikea furniture is my nemesis. I love to snowboard, yoga and meditate. I bungee jumped in Korea and I hope to take it to the next level, skydiving!

Minwoo Kim – minwoo.kim@kcaa.ca
Human Resources Director
Member since 2015

I’m a recent grad from the University of Toronto with a B.A. in Employment Relations and Political Science. I’m currently working as a technical recruiter and joined KCAA in order to give back to the community since I have gained so much from this organization already. My hobbies include long walks on the beach, swimming with a life jacket on, and liking pictures on Instagram. Feel free to connect with me if you’re interested in getting involved!

Randy Kim – randy.kim@kcaa.ca
Webmaster
Member since 2011

I am currently working as an engineer for a telecommunications company. I was originally brought on to assist with the website, but have since taken on many more tasks and responsibilities within the organization. Namely, hosting KCAA meetings at my place. I am a fiend for the outdoors, which is not very typical of computer geeks. And I don’t mean LARPing. My summer weekends are usually reserved for fishing, camping, and/or barbecues. My skin tone usually goes from creamy white in the spring, to dirty-homeless-guy brown in the autumn.

Joy Rho – joy.rho@kcaa.ca
Associate
Member since 2013

I am a recent Western Alumni who has had previous experience in social media and public relations as vice-president of promotions with the Health Studies Students’ Council with Western University. I volunteer at KCAA because I want to help build a sense community among individuals passionate about athletics in a fun, social environment. Although not an athlete myself, I appreciate the teamwork, passion and competitiveness found in the tournaments and events hosted by KCAA–among those who attend and the board members that help make it happen. My interests are watching FC Barcelona, running, and learning new things.

 
 
 

Sports Operation Managers

Jake Lee – jake.lee@kcaa.ca
Ice Hockey Sports Operations Manager
Member since 2012

I am a student at George Brown for Culinary Management. I bring tons of experience with the hockey community (playing, organizing teams, Korean elite level hockey operations, connections within the hockey world). I have a passion to give back to the community through sports. I am also a team player, dedicated and bring leadership. Some random facts about me are I hate anything mint, like Korean music from the 90’s and love beer but can’t seem to chug beer for my life.

Francis Kim – francis.kim@kcaa.ca
KCAA Basketball President
Member since 2009

I am a software professional in IPTV. I bring passion to encourage athletics amongst youths and adults of all skill levels. I played varsity football at University of Waterloo, in addition to varsity basketball at University of Technology Sydney. My goal is to provide a basketball channel for all levels and ensure Toronto is always competing in Korean North American Basketball Association (KNABA) and the Korean Olympics Championships every year.

Frank Min – frank.min@kcaa.ca
Basketball Development Director
Member since 2011

I am a physician. I bring to KCAA work and volunteer experiences as a collaborator, communicator and organizer in team settings. My interests include basketball, breakdancing and listening to music.

Jasen Kim – jasen.kim@kcaa.ca
Basketball Sports Operation Manager
Member since 2012

I graduated from the University of Waterloo and currently work as a Sales Engineer for Salesforce.com. I’ve been playing basketball since grade school, and more recently with KCAA over the past 5 years. Being a part of the KCAA family, I’m now in a position to give back to the Korean/Canadian athletic community by helping to build and foster the basketball program for athletes of all ages and skill levels.

Sean Kim – sean.kim@kcaa.ca
Golf Sports Operation Manager
Member since 2009

Waterloo graduate that is an integral part of annual golf tournaments. Dedicated father to a beautiful baby girl.

Justin Park – justin.park@kcaa.ca
Golf Sports Operation Manager
Member since 2010

Graduate of Wilfrid Laurier University and work in the Financial Planning business. I am an avid sports fan and love 90’s hip hop, Motown and Rock n Roll.

David Kim – dave.kim@kcaa.ca
Golf Sports Operation Manager
Member since 2007

I am a Hospitality Manager. Not only do I love the game of golf, hockey is my other passion when it comes to sports. My favourite quote is “You miss 100 percent of your shots you never take” -Wayne Gretzky.